Big words do not make you clever

OK, I know I said I wouldn’t write for a while, but I’m so incensed I just had to.

The word ‘Quotidian’ is not one I had come across before and I’m now very annoyed as I had to look it up. That, dear reader, does not happen to me all that often as even if I don’t know a word I can normally puzzle it out from the context.

Why oh why oh why could the author of the paper I’m currently struggling through not just have used a word that means something to the 90+ % of the population not educated past degree level?

Rant over,

girl out.

One thought on “Big words do not make you clever

  1. I hate big words in general, why can’t everyone be like hemingway that motherfucker had a 100 word vocabulary and still wrote some great stories. Although they mostly dealt with war, boxing and bullfighting, you don’t need many words for that. “The bull was big and had sharp horns. I stabed him and it was good.” Classic.

Leave a Reply

