Ouch

I’m so very sunburned. 😦

I’m very cross with myself as I know I burn easily and stupidly went out on fieldwork yesterday on very short notice in entirely the wrong clothes and without my normal radiation proof factor 50 sunblock.

Still, I had a great day doing GPR survey on Hod Hill, an Iron Age hillfort with a Roman fort dated to just after the invasion built inside it (which is quite unusual). The site is also an SSSI because it has lots of unusual plants. I got to see some rare purple spotted orchids and some even rarer bee orchids– pictures going on flickr asap. For some reason the orchids like the berm of the fort ditches so I saw them along with the interesting archaeology. There were also multitudes of crickets, rare butterflies and other cool bugs, and hawks or buzzards hunting along the adjacent valley bottom.

Camping last weekend was fun, and I’m looking forward to the next event in July. July is going to be very busy- workshop in Lancaster, trips out to my various case study sites for initial assessments (I hope), Graduation from my MSc and another camping trip.

August is also rapidly filling up with 2 events I’m supposed to be at, plus fieldwork in Wales again, and hopefully trips to Durrington Walls excavation as well 🙂

Lots of archaeology makes Neko a tired but happy girl.

Leave a Reply

