How to annoy longstanding customers

Pantheon Occulus

Originally uploaded by lilith_kayt.

I’m missing Italy…

But only a little bit. Spent last week out in the field and playing with real data for the PhD from our Welsh escapades, at a teaching and learning conference this week….

Plans very much afoot!

On the other hand, very irritated that my net-email provider, having given me a free account for the last 9 years, has decided to start charging £15 a year… and no more free accounts. I can’t even opt to stay with a pared down version of what I have now. This stinks for a number of reasons.

And have the gall to tell me it is for my own good!! “There will be no adverts” “It will be shinier and prettier” “You can add photos”. I have flickr for that. And a blog for letting other people read stuff. And I don’t mind the ads, I understand they pay for the minuscule amount of server space and bandwidth my emails take up. I have had my account with them since 1998!!! And then they were bought out last year, and suddenly this.

EVERYTHING goes there… even things I don’t think I know how to change anymore, I signed up to them that long ago. There are some people who only have that addy for me, and, it’s an email address I really like, almost part of my persona nowadays… Changing would also render all my lovely moo cards useless 😦

There is no way on earth I could get the same name without numbers after it or any dumb underscores….

So, do I shell out? Or do I change as much as I can to my gmail account and hope the important contacts realise… and also sacrifice a little bit of my persona….

What’s a girl to do?

GRRRRR

2 thoughts on “How to annoy longstanding customers

  1. I feel your pain, I really do (says the girl with eight different email accounts!)

    I see several options:
    1) Shell out the money. £15 in the scheme of things *really* isn’t that much money.
    2) Transfer to your Gmail and just hope like hell contacts will follow. How much lead time do you have before you need to make the decision? If you start the switch over whilst you still have access to your current account then nothing too major should slip through the net. And, as you said, people can always get you through the blog!
    3) Buy a domain name. Yes, this will entail money (though not much) and you’ll still have the switching trouble, but it *will* mean you should be able to get a much more personal address.

    Those are my thoughts.

  2. I think I’m going to be a pansy and pay the £15. It isn’t huge amounts of money and it lets me keep my email address. I just object to them doing this- I don’t mind an ad supported service, but someone in their marketing dept has obviously decided I’d be willing to pay £15 to get rid of the ads, and that the best way to get me to do this is to deny me any choice in the matter!

    Harrumph.

Leave a Reply

