Not an apology to my blog….

I’ve not written for ages.

I’m not going to sit and write a long and guilty post about how sorry I am to my poor neglected blog.

I’m going to think about why.

Several reasons come to mind:

Primarily, I think the main reason I also have not been keeping either of my paper diaries (I have two- one for uni stuff, logging workflow etc., and one for the rest of my life). Guilt. I feel like I have not been working enough, but I have been ludicrously busy, reading, travelling (Lancaster one week then Devon the next, Peterborough tomorrow and a trip away with friends LARPing in between). I think it is that I have not been writing, which even seems to me to be a measure of how hard I am working. 7 Months into my PhD and I have produced more words just planning, justifying and and generally arguing the case for my work for my initial review than I feel like I did for my MSc thesis. If I don’t have a few thousand words on paper I don’t feel like I have done much, so writing anything for the blog has felt a lot like cheating on my research.

Secondly, in the midst of all the hectic stuff, Matt and I have had a few tricky weeks. I’ve moved home and this is helping, but I had the urge to blog about all sorts of stuff that really is just between us two, and staying that way. Writing anything in the middle of all of that would have been too tempting. I’m an instinctive sharer- I talk my problems over, but in this instance it was better to speak to a few trusted friends rather than the whole of ‘teh internets’.

Finally, I have a secret shame to confess. I have joined facebook, initially so I could keep up with Jonas, (who, whilst he has a blog, uses facebook for his photos) but have since found more and more people I have not seen or spoken to in years and had the joy of reconnecting with them, albeit it in a superficial cyber way… There is something nice about posting those little status updates. I’m seeing the addictive factor of Twitter and I’m really resisting the urge to go and join in…

I’ve also been sick as a dog for the last week, but it thankfully seems to have finally worn off, just in time for me to go on a site visit to one of the most extensive soggy bits of England (the Fens) after todays torrential rain. Still, beats being in the office all day πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Not an apology to my blog….

  1. Come, join Twitter, you know you want to…

    (The other option is Pownce, which I still have invites for, but for some reason that one hasn’t gelled with me).

  2. I’m also neglecting my blog and I am actually studying it! An empty blog feels like I am doing nothing but as you noted the opposite is true. Empty blog = full life/studying πŸ˜‰

  3. LOL- Anne, my colleagues always know to worry about me when I have a tidy desk- it means I have severe writers block and have done anything (including file, log and alphabetise my papers) rather than open up my thesis and write it!

    P.S I really really liked the photos you took of the art project- they are amazing. I wish I could come and play with the soundscapes intsallation thing!

  4. A friend once came over to have dinner and said “Wow, your house is SO TIDY. How is your thesis coming along?” πŸ˜‰

    Thanks! I would love to invite you to come over to Amsterdam but the installations are gone but there will soon be new, interesting stuff at Montevideo.

    I see you have graduated! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

