Not exactly an update…

I love fantasy, and I love ‘kids’ fiction, and I’m especially fond of whenever the two cross over and it’s done well Two of my favourite authors of all time fall into this category, Tamora Pierce and Phillip Pullman. Pullman’s excellent series ‘His Dark Materials’ (or at least the first installment) is about to come to the big screen, a film I can’t wait for.

In his universe, everyone has a daemon, a manifestation of their innner self. As a child, it is mutable, taking many animal forms, representing the many possibilities we have open to ourselves. As an adult, it becomes a fixed expression of the persona, and is a life long companion. I’ve often wondered what my daemon would be like, and the movie website has a little quizz thingy that suggests one for you!

If I’ve made it work there should be an image and a link below for you all to see if you agree šŸ™‚

edited to add-

gah. OK, I suck at technology. Cas! Help!

<object width=”450″ height=”400″><param name=”movie” value=”http://goldencompassmovie.com/goldenCompass_blog.swf?id=347395″></param><embed src=”http://goldencompassmovie.com/goldenCompass_blog.swf?id=347395&#8243; type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” menu=”false” width=”450″ height=”400″></embed></object>

further edit :

OK, the flash object does not work but this link should- you need to tell it what language you want and then give it a minute to load šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Not exactly an update…

  1. Yeah, sorry hon, but you’re a bit screwed if you try to embed things in a WP blog. There is a work around, but I’m can’t remember it off the top of my head. GIve me a few and I’ll see what magic I can dig up for you šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

