Blogging Archaeology: My Best and Worst

I missed the boat with January’s question from Doug, but I am going to answer it quickly anyway, because it made me think.

What are your best (or if you want your worst) post(s) and why? Compare and contrast your different bests/worsts.

My ‘best’ post in terms of pageviews is this one:

https://girlwithtrowel.wordpress.com/2008/03/31/stonehenge-excavations/ which is related to my only brush with the media frenzy, and is also the first and only time I have worked under a press embargo. When I was finally allowed to tell everyone what I had been up to, my blog was linked by the discovery channel, which generated a lot of hits very fast, and no single post has beaten that one.

My ‘best’ in terms of comments is this one:

https://girlwithtrowel.wordpress.com/2011/06/28/bunnygate-my-two-pennies-worth/ which isn’t surprising because it was my clumsy attempt at voicing an opinion on a temporarily hot topic. My blog doesn’t really generate a lot of comments, which is fine, it’s not why I write.

My favourite posts are these two:

https://girlwithtrowel.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/childhood-books-prehistory-and-place/

https://girlwithtrowel.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/peat-poets-and-pollen/

because my writing here is about different things than my day job, it’s a space to explore this more woolly stuff. The responses I got to the post about books and places were helpful to me in understanding my own position, but they certainly aren’t my ‘best’ blogs by the usual metrics. I am proud of them though, of my writing, of the chance to talk in the first person for a change and to explore my standpoint and worldview a bit. I think this is still sadly missing from mainstream academic practice, something I also wrote about here:

https://girlwithtrowel.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/lost-voices/

My ‘worst’ blogs? Well there are plenty that have no comments, plenty that have no, or not many views. But like I said, I don’t blog for the metrics. I write as a way of writing myself, and to share personal and professional news and thoughts with friends and colleagues. My ‘worst’ blogs are ones like the one I am putting off writing at the moment, where I feel I have to apologise for hiding from things for a while so me and my brain can figure some stuff out. So, I’ve been hiding since New Year, and should have written this at least 2 weeks ago (sorry Doug!) but I’ve been focused on getting to work, and working out what happens next with my life (still don’t have a clue, sorry Mum!) once the post-doc ends…. For those reasons I am probably not going to manage to answer the February ‘question’, but I hope to be firing on all cylinders again by the time March comes around.

One thought on “Blogging Archaeology: My Best and Worst

  1. Pingback: Blogging Archaeology #BlogArch – All of the Responses to the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly | Doug's Archaeology

Leave a Reply

