Bog Oak, Somerset levels

Bog Oak, Somerset levels

Originally uploaded by lilith_kayt.

This lump of wood, slowly emerging from shrinking peats is about 8,000 years old. It grew in an oak forest before the peat engulfed it during a period of climate change. Our influence on the peat has led to it re-emerging now.

I was going to write a long post about how I got into archaeology and computing, but I’ve been guest-hosting on Brightmeadow, and that has eaten my free time for blogging!

Go read my post- it has many funny links and things. I’m off LARPing on Thursday untill late Monday, but I shall upload pictures and the long awaited aforementioned blog post too, when I get back.

For now, hope everyone has a good bank holiday. I’m off to bed as I have another day of arguing with GPR software ahead of me tomorrow…

Leave a comment